Finding a good whistle?

Finding a good whistle?

Hey all fellow whistlers. Im pretty new to playing. Ive been playing the whistle for about a year and am about ready to upgrade. from my standard "feadog" whistle in D. i was just wondering ifyou had any tips or good whistles that i could get that are not to costly. ive seen good ones like burkes. but that is just a bit out of my price range i think. just wondering what would be a good whistle to bring my playing to another level.
Thanks a bunch

~Jon

Re: Finding a good whistle?

I know that there are lots of different ones out there……. I just happen to like my Susato whistles, however.

I really like the new Dixon trad. About $25 US, in-tune, tunable - just a nice whistle all around.

Eric

I reckon you’re best off just playing a generation until you’ve saved enough to get a good whistle. Otherwise it’s a bit of a gamble with some of the mid-range whistles. It’s a bit of a gamble with Generations too but at least they don’t cost much! and if you’re lucky you can get a quite nice sounding one.

I agree with sneetch. I bought a burke brass D at a festival recenlty (which i love) after wasting money on more than a few mid priced whistles. The two that i play now are a burke d and a generation Bb so i guess the proof is in the puddin :)

Buying a higher priced Tinwhistle may not be all its got up to be.

Keep working with your first TW and in time it will soften and mature. I have a 15 year old Feadog which is very very nice - for something that cost less than $5 at the time.

A fair point. However if 15 years is a little outside your acceptable waiting time for a nice sounding instrument…… see above postings :)