looking for sessions in Ireland in August

looking for sessions in Ireland in August

I’m going on a six week trip to the North and Republic of Ireland this August, and am looking forward to visiting some friendly sessions. Can anybody make some recommendations? I will be in the Belfast area from August 7 to around the 11th, then will travel south to Cork and Kerry, hopefully dropping in at a few sessions on the way. I’m a visual artist and musician and would like to take photos of some of the musicians in sessions (with their permission of course) as I will be working on a series of etchings and drypoints based on these images. My plan is to work on them during my one month stay at the Cill Rialaig Artist’s Residency in Ballinskelligs in County Kerry which starts August 16 to September 13th (doing art during the day, playing music at night—what could be better!).
I play fiddle & concertina as well, so hope to do some playing at sessions. I’ll be travelling from the north to the south with my dad and son (who also play traditional music)….ending up in County Kerry by August the 16th. Our itinerary is pretty flexible, so if there was a great festival in Clare, we could head over that way.
If anyone can recommend some good sessions in the Belfast area I’d be very grateful.
Does anyone know if there is a session in Gelnavy at a pub in Antrim called McGeown’s on Wednesday night?
There used to be a great session at Clenaghan’s Pub (near Lurgan) that I went to in 2002, but I’ve heard it has moved to Glenavy.
Also, are there any traditional music festivals happening in August that I should check out in my travels? (more opportunities for good pics and tunes)
Thanking you in advance for your help!
cheers
~aoife

Posted by .

Re: looking for sessions in Ireland in August