Better Tenor Banjo Action

Better Tenor Banjo Action

I just bought a 19fret tenor banjo (used Kay) and the action is high, especially near the 12th fret. I think this is partially due to the thicker G string (.42 guage, I’m using Irish tuning DGAE) resting atop the standard tenor bridge. I don’t have the tools to measure the bridge height, and feel that if I adjust the truss rod I can heighten the upper frets of the neck; what about the dowel under the skin? Can i adjust it to change the neck action? Also, I have a large phillips screw at the heel. Does this do anything? I am new at banjos. Or do I get a shorter bridge? I believe I am using a Grover Acousticraft bridge, with bone inserts inside ebony.

Re: Better Tenor Banjo Action

Did you mean GDAE tuning?

Take it into a shop and explain what you want,they do these adjustments every day.Don’t mess with it ,you,ll only wind up with parts left over.

Heavier strings for GDAE tuning will often pull a neck forward, and require some adjustment. I wasn’t aware that Kay banjos had anything other than a single (metal) coordinator rod, which can adjust your action a tiny bit, but not much, and you *can* break stuff by messing with those if you’re not careful.

The easiest "quick fix" is certainly a shorter bridge, but it’s also possible that the neck is bowed forward a bit from tension over time. It never hurts to take it to a luthier for a good setup, but Kay banjos are not generally high end instruments, and you might end up spending more than the banjo is worth to get it looked at. With some of the older banjos, it’s pretty common to see a shim in between the neck and the pot to help tilt the neck back a bit, and lower the action.