Guitar Lead Instrument or Rhythm?

Guitar Lead Instrument or Rhythm?

Hi. I’m new to Celtic Music (been playing 40+ years though). I am having a hard time trying to figure out why the guitar is relegated as a rhythm instrument and with very little emphasis on its melodic capability. As a fingerstyle and clasical guitarist I find that there are many tunes that are very very suitable to the guitar (O’Carolan comes readily to mind as well as Walsh)
Maybe it is just the sentiment here in the St Louis area…comments?

Re: Guitar Lead Instrument or Rhythm?

Irish music is generally played in unison with other players. The guitar is going to get lost playing melody in that, especially during a session.

So while I love the sound of guitar playing melody, it only really works in recordings, amplified performances, or very small and quiet social playing situations. I have a tenor guitar that I love playing. And in the right acoustics, it can be fun in a session. But 95% of the sessions I play in are way too loud.

Pete, can you hear a flute player in your session?

Posted .

The relegation is really only in noisy pub sessions.

There are plenty of plectrum and fingerstyle guitarists out there playing melody. You’ll hear them on recordings, in performances, and small sessions in quiet places.

Look out for people like Tony MacManus, Steve Cooney and of course Richard Thompson has recorded many traditional tunes

Posted by .

I play a number of tunes on the guitar, both with a pick and finger picking. great fun but lost in most sessions. Though I do remember a great guitar session in Milltown many years ago, 3 backers playing tunes in the kitchen! Anyhow, we play the backing because most of the other instruments in the session cant! apart from the box players and pipers. Thats one reason the guitar is such a great instrument; versatility.

Fretted string instruments are not capable of the many articulations developed for the flute, pipes, whistle and fiddle.

Posted .