My new Copley and Boegli flute

My new Copley and Boegli flute

I’ve been playing modern ‘classical’ Boehm flute for several years (I’m a music teacher) but over the last year have become really interested in Irish music, to the point where I wanted an ‘Irish’ style flute as well as a whistle.

After lots of reading on this site and others I finally decided on a Copley and Boegli (from the US), made of Delrin polymer (as my budget doesn’t extend to wood and I like the convenience and durability of polymer), without a tuning slide and with silver rings at the joint ends. I’ve only had it a week and so still have trouble with the right hand stretch (much more than I’m used to) plus my fingertips are quite small, but otherwise I’m very happy with it.

Dave Copley is very prompt with replying to any inquiries and was happy to put in a left thumb hole for C natural for me, at no extra charge (a wonderful thing for Boehm players!). When I can cover the holes properly it makes a lovely strong sound and people have already said it sounds like wood. The Delrin is quite attractive, too, in that it’s textured to resemble woodgrain. It’s beautifully made and the embouchure hole is very easy to play, just like my silver flute.

I was lucky enough to put in my order when he’d just finished a new batch of them, and so despite the Easter holidays, it arrived in Australia in 9 days. So for anyone who’s considering buying a new flute, I’d say definitely consider a Copley.

Linden

Re: My new Copley and Boegli flute

Linden, congrats on your new flute! I played a blackwood Copley for a few years—excellent flute.