whistles….

whistles….

I’m a whistle player and I am looking for a new one.. with this said…. what are some good whistles… i have been playing A FEADÓG and CLARKE for a few years and would like something better…. something that is more mellow and doesn’t cost to much…..

Re: whistles….

Hard to find anything more mellow than the wood plug clark. Beautiful sound in my opinion….

Ditto, shanty.
I just unwrapped a Clarke to replace the one that I played for over eight years. It finally rusted from the inside out, and started to leak air when I played. I just love the sound of them, and the ease of playing. You can spend more, but in my opinion, you can’t get better…

My main go-to C whistle is a Chieftain tunable Mezzo C from Phil Hardy.
Honestly, it’s a remarkable piece with an amazing tone.

If you have unrelenting resources, a Copeland pre-dam C brass is exceptional if, if you can find one,

For D’s I play a Kerry Songbird - now out of manufacture - in great tune with a very nice chiff, and I have an Oz high D on order.

This is, of course, after trying out about a hundred different whistles, and 30 years of owning them. Price is relative to how much enjoyment you get from them. In the lower prices you’re lucky to find a good one, or even one that plays in tune with itself.

And what’s funny is that I also play a Feadog and it’s the second most mellow whistle I’ve got. It’s an older one and has a nice mellow tone but a little more volume than the Clarke. www.chiffandfipple.com is a great source for whistle info…

Although I will admit, I have always liked the sound of wooden whistles for the slow tunes, I guess I am just too cheap to spring for one!!!

I recently bought a few Oaks, c and d. I had one in the past that I really liked. I was pleased when the new ones were just as wonderful as the old. I always suggest Oak whistles. About $10.