A pile of mainly Ed Reavey tunes that I can’t decifer!

A pile of mainly Ed Reavey tunes that I can’t decifer!

I year or so back, I was looking for a peticular Ed Reavey tune, and found a huge page with loads of tunes, mostly his, I believe. I copied them onto my computer, only to relise I couldn’t read them. Only recently, upon finding this site have I learned this more accurate way of writing ABCs. When I went back to these tunes, it turns out that they aren’t all written in the same ABC style, and I, a beginner at this sort, am unable to decifer them. There are 120 pages!! If anyone would like to give it a go, I can send them, but thought it better not to but them on the site, as it could cause some confusion.

Posted by .

Re: A pile of mainly Ed Reavey tunes that I can’t decifer!

I’m by no means an expert on Reavy, but the guys in Baltimore play his tunes quite a bit. Actually, a few months ago a 20-something fiddler named Jim Eagan (trained by Brendan Mulvihill) just released a CD of all Reavy tunes. It’s 13 tracks of just Reavy tunes (except for one tune), and the CD is called "At Reavy’s House". It really is a lovely CD. I’ll probably post it here a bit later if this doesn’t motivate somebody else to post it. I know there is also a book of just Reavy tunes floating around somewhere. Don’t know the name of it though. Ok, gotta run.

Jason

Funny, I’ve gotten into records lately (the vinyl kind - shows my age, or lack thereof) and last night I stumbled upon the Reavy tribute album at my local record store. I had the cd, but on record it sounds really alive, especially the track from his 1927 recording. Inspired me to learn some more of his tunes. Anyway, just a pointless diatribe.

There is an Ed Reavy tune book with about hundred something of his tunes available at the living tradition online shop. The sheet music book was edited by Ed