My First Session- Some Questions. Any Do’s and Don’ts?

My First Session- Some Questions. Any Do’s and Don’ts?

Hi

I have been playing the Piano Accordion for 4 years now and I was asked to come to a session on New Years Night. Only problem, is that this will be my first session and I am unsure as to how things work at sessions.
Is there a "leader" of some sort at the sessions?
What kind of tunes are mostly played (Reels, Jigs, Hornpipes etc.)?
How long do they go on for?
What kind of skill level are the people at the session going to be; Are we talking amateurs, elites, or a mixture of both?
Is there any sort of etiquette that I should be aware of?

Sorry for all the questions, but any answers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Re: My First Session- Some Questions. Any Do’s and Don’ts?

Hi
a couple of relevent questions
First
Where in the world are you ?
Second
Is this session a one off like at a party ?
Thirdly
What type of tunes do you usually play?

David

First-
South Mayo Area

Second-
Yes, a one off party. But information for regular sessions would be great too.

Third-
I usually play fast tunes like reels, jigs, and polkas. My knowledge of hornpipes and airs is limited.

Who invited you? If it is someone who regularly attends sessions and has heard you play or played with you at home then they must feel you have something to offer or that you will benefit from participating. As to what standard the other players will be that is impossible to say, sessions can change from one week to the next depending on who turns up. I think the best thing is to spend time listening to what is being played to begin with and gauge it from there. Good luck in your new adventure and I hope you get to enjoy many more sessions :-)

Most of your questions can only really be answered by one of the other players - the one who asked you, for example. But the fact that you have been invited suggests that your presence will be appreciate.