Help me pick a low flute!

Help me pick a low flute!

Hi all,

Im stunned by the beautiful sound of the low whistle. I am a classical flute player and I m trying to get back my old skills again… Meanwhile I want to extend my arsenal of instruments!

But there are so much low whistles out there…and I ve never played one!

I’m looking for a:
-D whistle
-airy and warm sounding, but not too airy (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sYGfujInoJs)

-Easy to play, but not so easy that you ll stick at a beginner level… (I want to do bending, I love it!)
-I’m not so sure whether I have large or small hands, just take into account that I ve played the flute, the classical flute where there is typically about 2 cm between fingers.
-Budget: Im a student so…nothing over 200Euros, but suggestions out of my budget reach are welcome!
-And..should I buy a tuneable one? What is the advantage/disadvantage?

Hope you guys can help me out!

Posted by .

Re: Help me pick a low flute!

If it s worth it I might extend my budget to 250-275..

Posted by .

i would recommend a burke low D. they are very versatile and sound like what you would be looking for. you can find it here along with a sound clip: http://www.burkewhistles.com/product.php?productid=16173&cat=0&page=1. this whistle is tunable.

i have a great whistle by another maker that i got as a gift that is not tunable, which really irks me because it is a fantastic whistle.

Posted by .

Recognize that the whistle your clip references in the original post is McSherry playing a low F - what looks to be a Chieftain or an Overton non-tuneable - a somewhat different animal than a low D.

http://www.theaveragebody.com/average_hand_size.php