The High C on a Wooden Flute - HELP!

The High C on a Wooden Flute - HELP!

I just started learning Trim the Velvet off that Paul Smyth CD. He’s not playing a D flute so with a computer program, I was able to change the pitch to match my D flute. It’s a lovely setting and the tune is going well for me, except for that high C in the third part. It’s the only tune that I play which has that high C so I’m not used to it. (I’m not classically trained on the silver flute so everything is a challenge for me)

Anyone have any tips for getting the high C to sound decent? Does anyone just play the third part in the lower octave? Here’s my fingering for this note:

oxo xxo

Maybe there’s a way around the high C. Maybe there’s a setting out there that avoids the high C totally?? I’m open to any suggestions.

Any help will be greatly appreciated :-)

Lost in Vermont

Joyce

Posted by .

Re: The High C on a Wooden Flute - HELP!

Try this:

00x 000

Or this

h00 000

(h = half-hole)

I get it quite solidly with both fingerings.

Best luck to you

—Eliot

Posted by .

Thanks Eliot! I’ll try those after work.

Posted by .

I finger it oxx xxo on the whistle and it sounds great…don’t know if it works on the wooden flute, though.

-Jonathan

Posted by .

For high C I do this as well as Eliot’s suggestions:

O X X X X O

I don’t play flute (yet!) but I do play low whistle, and I have found that although oxxooo works very well in the lower octave, the only way I can get a clear tone on the high c is by half-holing. This could just be a fault of my whistle though.

-Max

Practice may be the key here, too. Also, try rolling the flute in when playing the higher notes, don’t blow harder to reach them, and do tighten the embouchure to increase the speed of the airstream.

Eric