Playing melody - banjo or mandolin?

Playing melody - banjo or mandolin?

Howryas!

Firstly, please excuse my ignorance on all things ITM.

As a guitarist I enjoy accompanying tunes (from the safety of my armchair). I play in standard, drop d, and dadgad. This is all fine. However, I also like to play the tunes. I would like to have an instrument that I could dedicate to playing tunes on, which would mean that I would not have to keep retuning my only guitar to play specific tunes.

Basically, my question is this:

Coming from a guitar background which is better/more fun to play tunes on…..a banjo….or a mandolin?

Starter Mandolins seem to be cheaper to aquire??

Go raibh mile a maith agaibh!!

Re: Playing melody - banjo or mandolin?

Mandolin without a doubt, but watch out - some have very narrow fingerboards.
Banjo is great in a session but can get a bit tiresome when you’re home alone.

Posted by .

The banjo and mandolin are entirely two different instruments requiring separate techniques and styles so the “fun” aspect or “which is better” is really a matter of preference. While they share a tuning (but are an octave apart), the mandolin is a double coursed instrument with a fair amount of sustain, a short (and crowded) fingerboard, and only moderate volume in a session while the banjo is loud, has a long scale that begs to be played with all four fingers, and has a specific technique attributed to it by a multitude of players that relies on the stacatto triplet and other methods that complement the sound of the banjo.

There is not an established mandolin style, which means that the mandolin needs to be explored a lot more within ITM. There are now emerging a range of banjo styles that work well with ITM, but the instrument still has a lot of exploration left too.

That being said, I agree with Bren, but for different reasons.