Keys of tunes

Keys of tunes

I have been playing for quite a few years now could anyone tell me how to work out the key of a tune

Posted by .

Re: Keys of tunes

If you’ve been playing for quite a few years, why the sudden need to know?

Not meaning to be unhelpful or flippant, just wondering why it has suddenly become an issue.

I can’t offer any help because I don’t know. I’ve been playing about 25 years and never needed to.

In a very general sense, the note that the tune "wants" to end on is most often the name of the key of the tune. If it ends on a D, for example, it’s probably in the key of D.
That approach is a little bit limited in that it doesn’t account for the modes — your tune ends on a D, but it could also be D minor or D mix, etc. Make those differentiations is a bit harder. Most tune players I know are content to know it’s "D" and let the backers worry about whether they mean "D-dorian" or "D mix" or whatever.
Showaddy is right, though; there shouldn’t be any real need, unless, in the middle of the set, you want to notify the backers of the next turn in the road.

There are different clues on the sheet music that will tell you, but I’m guessing that if you don’t know what key you’re playing in, you probably don’t read music.

Often, the last note of a tune (or either part of a tune) is the note of the key that you’re in. Sometimes, when you finish a tune and it sounds like someting is missing at the end, that means that it doesn’t finish on the note of the key that you are in. You can probably find the note easily enough if you try a few notes until it sounds "finished". Then that would be the key of the tune. The you have major and minor to consider and also the fact that some tunes are in other modes such as mixolydian or dorian. Those are a bit more confusing, but, to get a start, try looking for the note that gives the tune a finished sound at the end.
Hope that wasn’t too confusing.