Flute question

Flute question

Hello all,
I wonder if there are any flute players out there that might be able to help me please?
I’m new to playing the flute (only since Jan this year, but have played tin whistle before that). Recently, I’m getting a strange sound (sometimes) when playing low A or B notes…almost like a gurggling sound!! (as opposed to a consistant clear sound). It’s as if the air blowing through was vibrating (another desctiption I can think of is if you are driving, and you open one car window and the air in the car seems to vibrate). Apologies if this sounds crazy!
It’s only happened recently, and being the summer, I’m not in contact with flute teachers or classes, so I have no one to ask locally.
Anyway - just wondering if anyone had heard of this happening, and what might be the cause (apart from me being crap I guess!). 🙂
Hope you can help!
Andy

Re: Flute question

What type of flute are you playing with? Some of the beginer flutes can produce this effect.

The air you are blowing should the equivalent of blowing out a candel, not as much as say playing on the whistle, if you follow me. The embouchure should be RELAXED and as small as possible.

I forgot to add. Some flute players think that playing a loud sound is good….It’s not. Try playing a note softly and as "in tune" as is possible. It will train your embouchure.

Another possibility is a small crack. If you could bring this flute to the retailer who could inspect this for fissures, you might find out what the problem is.

Hi! many thanks for the reply!
It’s a Sam Murray flute - blackwood, keyless.
Actually, recently I noticed that it has a warp - I hadn’t noticed it before, but by chance discovered it when I placed it on a counter and it rolled. Don’t know if that is related?