Willie Clancy Summer School 2007

Willie Clancy Summer School 2007

I am considering going to the Willie Clancy Summer School next year. I play the tenor banjo and consider myself fairly advanced. I would appreciate it if someone, obviously with experience of the classes, could tell me how pupils are graded for classes (obviously my opinion of my own playing may not concur with a tutors - I have been playing since 1970 but I am self taught and haven’t played in sessions for @ least 10 years although I practice virtually daily).

Re: Willie Clancy Summer School 2007

All the students and tutors congregate on the Monday morning, and each student is asked to play a tune of his/her choice. The tutors will then allocate you to what they consider to be an appropriate class for your ability.

Posted by .

What Kenny said is accurate but I would add that they usually won’t stop you switching classes if you are really keen on having a particular tutor or feel the things are going too or too fast in the class your in. It’s fairly flexible that way and I think you’d have to be wildly misjudging your own abilities for the tutors to really stop you sitting in with your favourite tutor.

Posted by .

Hi there,

My fiancee was in the banjo class this year, and he has been playing for about a year and a half. He said there were 3 levels of banjo classes this year, and he was in the middle class. He said the advanced class focused a lot on technique, so if you need to work on that, it might be good for you. The way the banjo classes work, they have a different teacher every day, so you would probably be able to learn soemthing from someone.