Northumbrian Tunes

Northumbrian Tunes

My high school chemistry teacher was quite a well-known Northumbrian piper who used to run a trad music club at lunch times. I remember when I graduated I asked if I could rummage through all his sheet music, and he produced a binbag full! I spent hours sifting through it all, and came across many traditional Northumbrian and Borders tunes, some of them copies of the original manuscripts by well-known pipers and fiddlers in the area. 10 years later, I still have them, and feel as though I have something valuable which should be shared with people. Posting them here will also allow me to put together some sort of tunebook for myself, since a lot of the tunes I know were learnt during childhood and have not yet been posted on this website.

I would also like to post some triple hornpipes in 3/2 because they’re fab, and perhaps a slip polka or 2, but they are not listed in the genres. Jeremy?

I feel a bit small and unrepresented in the huge world of Irish trad, and I sometimes feel as though the English tunes are being forgotten. I’m quite interested to find out how widespread they are. Has anyone come across any of these tunes played at their local session?

Re: Northumbrian Tunes

As a Scotsman on an Irish music website I shouldn’t really be consorting with the common enemy, the English, but, as it’s all varieties of folk music, ie music of ordinary folk, here goes.

Firstly, being the bearer of such a great legacy, the responsibility thrust upon you seems almost as great as that thrust upon Frodo the Ring Bearer!

2ndly, There’s a lively tradition of English Traditional Music near where I live in London, with a whole gang of real enthusiasts, in Greenwich, one of whom is John Offord, who, as well as being a fiddler, is also a noted collector of English tunes. These guys hang out at The Cricketers on Tuesdays, and have a web site:

http://www.greentrad.org.uk/