Flings -what are they????

Flings -what are they????

Hi, I’m new to the session. I found this site a few weeks ago and it was like christmas!!!!
Anyway to the point…..I learnt a tune off the lunasa cd -"Lunasa"-called Terry ‘Cuz’ Teehan’s (track 9) and they call it a fling. The definition I have of a fling says it is "a solo step dance which is generally performed to a strathspey played quickly. In Ireland strashtspey’s seem to be known as flings" Now, the tune lunasa play doesn’t sound at all like a strathspey played quickly and I thought that the irish version of a strasthspey was a highland. As you can tell I’m a bit confused and being an Irish step dancer dancer I’m intrigued as to what a fling actually is (tune wise not the other type of fling:) ) Can anyone clear this up for me?

Re: Flings -what are they????

On the Standing Stones website, there’s an essay by Caoimh

The highland, which is still danced in some parts of Donegal, is actually a couple dance, apparently popular for kitchen dances in the old days because it could easily be performed in a small space, with lots of turning on the spot. Some of the tunes are smoothed-out and otherwise modified strathspeys, but many others are not. Highlands can be great tunes but sadly they are rarely heard in yer average session.

Highlands are, or were, as I understand it, confined to the Donegal tradition. Tunes called ‘flings’ seem to occur more widely.

there was (as recently as 10 years ago) a dance in south and west cork known as the "triple fling" - a dance for 3 persons (rather like the middle figures of the "dashing white sergeant", a well known scottish dance) rather than for couples. it was quite a popular dance and was always danced to tunes referred to as "flings" - many of which appeared to be modified hornpipes and unrelated to the donegal "highland". possibly this dance was (or is) rather more widespread than the backwoods of county cork?