What is a session?

What is a session?

Ok, I know I sound a bit silly, asking that question, but I am kind of new to Celtic music. I’ve heard a lot of people talk about sessions, but never really explain about them.Can someone explain more on, what are they, how did they come about, how do you start playing in them, just information like that.
Thanks,
Fairfeather

Re: What is a session?

Usualy a session comes about because some people want to play a few tunes together on a regular basis. It’s usualy in a pub (in Ireland) or a club . There aren’t any rules as such, but there are certain points of ettiquette which are useful to know. It’s always a good plan to have a good listen before you join a session, and try to work out if the people are just playing for fun, - for their own enjoyment, or are hellbent on trying to impress the listener. The former type will probably welcome you; the latter are unlikely to want anyone joining in, but ask anyway you never know your luck! Dont make the mistake of just sitting in, taking out your bodhran and starting up. Theres no point in ruining their night and yours as well! I’m sure more wisdom will come your way but I hope this will be a start.

Fairfeather, take a look at the discussion thread titled "Session etiquette for shy intermediate players" dated Augest 14th. Another good source of info is Barry Foy’s book, A Field Guide to the Irish Music Session, available at amazon.com among other places.
Will

Posted .