restringing

restringing

OK, funny thing. I’ve been playing fiddle for about 7 years and i still don’t think i have the whole restringing thing right. I just can’t figure out how to do it where it makes sense. Things are rubbing and it just doesn’t look right. But maybe it is. Anyways, so to make sure, for example, how should the A-string peg look?

Re: restringing

It’s important to get the strings onto the right pegs, if they’re wrong this will make the strings cross over each other. So, make sure the A and D strings are attached to the pegs at the top end of the scroll, so E and G are nearer the fingerboard. Also, try not to turn the tuning pegs more than necessary when tuning your fiddle. It’s worth the small expense of fitting fine tuners, so you can avoid using the pegs much of the time.

Good luck!

Fine tuners, in my experience as a cellist and fiddle player, aren’t all that useful if
you’re using synthetic core strings - they need too much twiddling to have the
required effect. If the pegs and strings are properly fitted, the pegs turn smoothly and stay in place when you stop the turning, and the strings glide smoothly through the grooves in the nut, then peg tuning is still the best. Of course, if you’re using steel core strings then fine adjusters are almost always essentlal.
Important points to remember when fitting strings:
1) The string should be angled from the nut to where it goes onto the peg so that it
will tend to pull the peg into the peg holes. There should be no problem doing this
with the A and D, but the G can be a little more difficult, depending on the geometry of the pegbox and fingerboard nut. In this case try to get the final run of the string on the peg as close to the pegbox wall as possible without actually touching it. In the case of the E, you almost never tune from the peg because of the string tension, so it makes sense to have that peg in fairly tight. But again, try to get the final run of the string close to the pegbox wall.