Reading the ABC

Reading the ABC

I was wondering how you read the ABC music? If you don’t know what i’m talking about it looks like this I: FAAB A2IFAAA B/2…. etc.
this site is the only place I have found it.

I cant really read sheet music, and this looks easyer. :P

Re: Reading the ABC

Looks like the forum ate my link.

Try Google search for ‘ABC Notation’

Tigermoth:
Can’t imagine anyone actually reads and plays straight from ABC, but I could be wrong.
Yes you very well could. I find it far easier than "the dots" but I am an engineer :-)

Reply to goldfrog

Well blow me down! Good on you.

I’m off to eat some alphabet spaghetti, lol.

I can read ABC fluently as well. It really doesn’t take that long to get used to, and it’s invaluable for writing tunes down. I used to use staff notation for this, now I find ABC easier. It’s also useful for reading ABC tunes you find on the web - no need to use a conversion program.

Well each to their own, but I find it hard to believe it’s easier than the notation. Anything is possible with practice though I suppose. Music written on a stave makes so much more sense to me, visually at least, as the dots go up or down, so does the sound of the notes.

When I say easier, I mean that you can jot down notes on the back of an envelope quicker and easier. No more creating rickety staves etc. I agree there’s not much in it, as far as time goes, but being able to read and write ABC with ease has been a great help to me.

I must admit, I’ve never actually tried to play tunes from abc. Although when writing in abc, after a few tunes one after the other, it starts to flow. Compared to notation though, I do make way more mistakes writing abc.