Buying a bouzouki for a beginner

Buying a bouzouki for a beginner

Any advice, please, on where’s the best shop in Dublin - or anywhere in Ireland - to buy a bouzouki (or octave mandolin) for a beginner?
Thanks

Re: Buying a bouzouki for a beginner

Hey molaoch, if your up in Belfast you should call into:
‘Marcus Musical Instruments Ltd’
http://www.marcusmusicbelfast.com/

They’re at:
125 Royal Avenue,
Belfast,
BT1 1FF
028 9032 2871

& ask for Donal!

i can second that, i just bought i flyde octave mandolin from marus, donal’s good to deal with.

there’s also plenty on ebay, you could get a bargain.

Fylde is a good starter instrument and will hold it’s value when you want to trade up.

It all depends what you want to pay, is the beginner a total beginner or transferring from another instrument, in which case they will already have some sensitivity to how the instrument behaves and sounds - will they immediately be aware of the ‘zouks’ deficiencies if you buy too cheap, or will it be a useful tool as they learn to get their ear in and the fingers moving right, and maybe bash the thing about a bit as they carry it about, till they are ready to move up to a better instrument ?
Personally, I wouldn’t buy a europaen Ozark ‘zouk for any but an absolute beginner with no track record of music. On the other hand, the Pacific-rim ‘zouks are quite well-made, with a good quality control - Ozark, Trinity College, Vintage, Johnson; there’s a lot of badge engineering but they all seem to come off the same production line, and although I would recommend a Red-Henry-pattern ( see previous comments on this forum ) bridge to replace what’s fitted, they do have good action and tone.
Equally, if you could find a second-hand Fylde or similar, then that should hold it’s value if not mistreated, if that’s important to you.
Your budget is probably the biggest criterium - what do you feel is a reasonable price for a starter instrument ?