bows

bows

I have been playing fiddle for over 30 yrs, and have some
rather expensive bows and I’ll tell you the “incredibow” mentioned earlier (with link) cannot be beat, even for
an advanced player (about 150 US)--check it out !

Posted by .

Re: bows

HI Hauke, I have been playing for a similar length of time and was looking at those bows on the web just the other day. A lot of beginner players seem to like them so it’s good to hear of someone more experienced getting on well with them too. Have you seen the coloured ones in the flesh? If so, do they look good or cheap?

Seems almost too good to be true…what makes them so good? What’s the advantage of them other than price? Do they really play better than a hand made pernambuco stick?

They’re so lightweight that I can play for longer periods of time. The tension makes them nice and bouncy (does take some getting used to at first), which I find makes triplets much easier. I’ve been using mine for 2 years, and I haven’t broken one hair…not one hair. That’s pretty amazing. And you can’t beat the price.

I’ve just ordered another two - I have two already. I find them light, easy to use and I can accessorise because of the large range of colours they come in!!
They now do a hi-tension version for instruments with more than 4 strings which I’m going to try.
My husband who sound engineers our band says the tone quality/signal strength of the cheap Incredibow is better than the £400 ordinary bow and the £140 carbon fibre bow.
I’ve had mine about 2 years now and not broken a single hair and saved money on not having to have them rehaired like normal bows.

Mine arrived in the post this morning….it’s incredibly light and the tone quality is much better than my (cheap) wooden bows. Think I will definately get another.

FF - If they’re that great, why have more than one? (Just wondering)