2 row button accordion: which key?

2 row button accordion: which key?

Hi everyone -
I searched on this question but couldn’t fine a thread on this topic — so yet another which key to start with question —

I am a beginner bb player — started on a toy 7 button melodion and am ready to invest in a real instrument.

I would appreciate advice/opinions on which key 2 row accordion to buy.

Thanks!
Tedrick Schmenke -
St. Paul Minnesota

Posted by .

Re: 2 row button accordion: which key?

C#/D ~ C/C# if you like the bounce of the Southwest ~ Cork, Kerry, Tipperary, Limerick ~ etc. But I’m bias and prefer those to the more modern Dublin invention of B/C… However, to be honest with you, there are more B/C squeezers than the others. My bias is that the ‘others’ have more lift, you play the bellows more, akin to a single row. The B/C allows for more legato playing, but there will be many others following this little offering who will guide you further with their wisdom and experience…

Use your ears to see where your heart might lie. You can listen for the difference ~ Johnny O’Leary, Jackie Daly, John Brosnan, etc., on the one hand, and a slew of others to represent B/C ~ Joe Burke, Joe Cooley, etc… I’ll leave that specific guidance for others…

Best of luck, and enjoy the read and the listening…

If your looking for long term durability with great sound go for a paulo soprani. If your looking for a great sound at a cheaper price go for a castagnari or mengascini

Posted by .

Being in St. Paul, you might want to talk with Paddy O’Brien about it.

C#/D if you want to play like Jackie Daly and Màirtin O’Connor and people like them.B/C if you want to play like Joe Burke and Paddy O’Brien.Personaly I’d go for C#D.