Banjo Triplets

Banjo Triplets

Hi! You must be wondering why I called you here today…

I know there have been some threads on this topic and I have read them, but it’s been a while since a new one was posted so here I go with my plea for assistance (or just moral support)..

I’ve been playing the Tenor Banjo for about 3 1/2 years now and while I am seeing steady improvement overall, I’m still struggling with these blasted triplets that I love so much. I know that the triplet isn’t the be all end all of banjo playing, but I do so love the way they sound (as long as they aren’t over done).

It seems like I have "good triplet days" and "non-existant triplet days" and I can’t seem to figure out what causes either to happen.

I’ve tried slow drills as well as incorperating them into scales and increasing the speed slowly - same with tunes - but what seems to elude me is any degree of consistancy. I know my right hand can fire them off, the proper muscles seem to work, I’ve seen it happen! There just seems to be some disconnect
with my brain and making them happen when I want to…

So - again I appreciate any advice, tips, moral support, sympathy, or therapy that anyone can offer.

Thank you and good night!

Posted by .

Re: Banjo Triplets