Sessions: politics and friendship

Sessions: politics and friendship

Hello all,

In the past few months I’ve been having increasing problems involving sessions, and I was wondering if anyone shared parts of the same problems I’m having.

First of all, when I started playing I loved big, noisy sessions and would patiently wait for tunes I knew and then would follow along. After eight years, though, my taste and goals have changed, and it has created a series of problems. It’s very challenging to try to describe exactly what the situation is in a short way, but I’ll do my best.

When I now sit in a session, there are many factors that will disturb/harass/aggress me, and it’s not something I can just turn off. I’ve been listening to lot of recorded sessions in the past few years, and really developed a taste for more laid back, mellow sessions. Most of these recorded sessions are with Clare and Cork musicians, and my favorite musicians have styles which I’ve come to love. They won’t play loud, they won’t have flashy playing and will mostly listen to each other and try to adapt to each other, and will have great respect for tunes.