National Spelling Bee contestant

National Spelling Bee contestant

Don’t know how many people (in the US) are aware, but the National Spelling Bee was just aired on TV last week. Has become one of those weird fascinations in the US and has begun to receive serious media coverage, almost kind of like what has happened with poker.

OK, so what does this have to do with ITM? Apparently one of the contestants plays the tin whistle competitively. He’s a contestant from Missouri whose name I won’t mention in order to protect anonymity. ITM isn’t exactly a huge phenomenon, so I thought it was pretty cool when I heard about this contestant’s interest in the music.

Anywho, point of this post really is to find out if anybody actually knows who I’m talking about? I’m a school teacher and I help my students take interest in educational competitions like the Bee, especially when they receive such huge national attention. I thought it would be kind of cool for my students to hear directly from one of the contestants.

So, if you happen to know this person, would you mind emailing me through the site with a contact email address? Or, if you happen to be this person, would you mind contacting me through this site in regards to the hard work you put into the spelling and learning in general? I did the usual member search, but didn’t come up with anything. This contact would go a long way in helping them take an interest in spelling and learning.

Thanks,
Jason

Re: National Spelling Bee contestant

Trust me, the National Spelling Bee doesn’t get any kind of media attention over here (thank God).

The contestant you’re looking for is Connor Spencer. He attends the St Vincent de Paul Academy in Kansas City. As he is a minor, I would not provide you with an email address but would recommend you contact the school with your request.