Good tune for absolute beginners

Good tune for absolute beginners

Hello folks,
In a couple of weeks I will be teaching a whistle class at the Kilmore Celtic Festival. Usually, these classes consist of a demo of the instrament and then I teach a tune. Ideally, the tune would be not too fast, use less than one octave and be well known to the average punter.
Last time I did this, half the group did not bring an instrument and were not musicians at all - but they came and concentrated for an hour, so there is hope for them. I taught a round (but I cannot recall what) This time I am on my own - so the round idea would not work at all.
That was two years ago and I am curious what this group would suggest I teach them this time.

Re: Good tune for absolute beginners

Tom Wards Jig might be worthwhile thinking about.

A colleague of mine teaches whistle in his 6th and 7th grade music classes. He has a box of Sweettones and always begins with the Star of County Down

https://thesession.org/tunes/4320

It’s a great one to start on and meets your requirements of not being too fast, stays within an octave, and here in the USA it’s the well-known hymn "I Heard The Voice of Jesus Say". Good luck to you.

…PS- just skip the low Bs.

Jim Ward’s jig is wicked easy. It’s the first tune I ever learned. And still one of my favorites now because it is just awesome.

Ta 🙂
I will look up Tom/Jim Wards Jig, but I have not heard of it before, so would doubt the students would have either. ‘Star… " could be a goer. Any more? I was thinking of "I’ll Tell me Ma" or "Skye Boat Song" so it was nice not to get those suggested

munster cloak

Rakes of Mallow. Dead easy. AND … they can get the satisfaction of learning one of them ‘fancy’ notes (the C nat) in a tune where it’s easy to play it.

Be careful of the dots as shown here, though. Posted by our great leader many moons ago, but differing in one or two resepcts for the ones usually played.

Posted by .

Food for thought: