Viola strings on a violin?

Viola strings on a violin?

I wonder if anyone can help out? I recently bought a second hand modern Strad cheaply. It’s well made and sounded dreadful with violin strings. So, having heard that newer violins can take the weight of viola strings, I restrung it. It sounds great (to me as I have little viola experience) but good enough to add some depth while others are leading in a session.

Two questions really. Does anyone know if the violin might suddenly disintegrate!? And where can I find some tune settings for ITM on viola? I’ve looked, but can’t readily find anything.

PS NO I can’t get a viola ‘cos my hands are only just big enough to get around the violin!

Re: Viola strings on a violin?

Susie, are you tuning the viola-strung fiddle with viola tuning (CGDA?). I tried that once as an experiment (before I got into ITM) because my fiddle has a particularly deep tone on the G and D, so I used a viola C with the fiddle G, D and A (I was using Dominants at the time, and I think I’ve still got that viola C). The general result was a lot of deep, deep resonance, but the C felt very "floppy" because the vibrating length on the fiddle was too short, and this caused it to go out of tune very quickly. So I reverted to standard tuning and put the fiddle away for a couple of years - being an orchestral cellist I wasn’t particularly interested in playing violin in an orchestra (although the viola was, and still is, a possibility). Then a couple of years later I discovered ITM and realised what the fiddle was really for, and I haven’t looked back since!