German 9th grade students: Survey about sessions

German 9th grade students: Survey about sessions

Hello, I’m a teacher of English from Buxtehude, northern Germany interested in ITM. I’ve just introduced my class to Irish traditional music and they’ve learned what a session is. They’ve developed a little survey on sessions in general and would like to learn from some real session-goers like you what a session is like. These are their questions:

Where do you come from?

What kind of instrument do you play in your session?

What kind of mood is there in such a session?

Do musicians have regular days to do their session?

How many years do you have to play an instrument to play it
good enough to play in a session?

Can children go to a session and watch it (children like 6 years old)?

How many musicians are in a session?

Can anybody play in such a session?

Are there things like “session competitions”?

Thank you for your contributions… musical greetings… jensis

Re: German 9th grade students: Survey about sessions

Where do you come from? County Tipperary in the southern part of Ireland.

What kind of instrument do you play in your session? Guitar, Fiddle, Mandolin

What kind of mood is there in such a session? The main session I go to is a group of friends who meet to play music and have ‘the craic’. It’s a session where beginners are encouraged and experienced players are respected. Music is played, songs are sung and plenty of jokes and ‘slagging’ too.

Do musicians have regular days to do their session? Usually a session is organised for one certain day a week, our session however is more relaxed and spontaneous. We will get on the phone to each other and see how many of us are available, usually every Friday.

good enough to play in a session? Tough question for me to answer because I’m only playing the fiddle for 6-7 months. Although I’ve been playing the guitar for years.