I am going to buy a German Roth

I am going to buy a German Roth

I have been looking around for a year or so to buy a fiddle. I tried a few now, and the latest I tried was a brand new Roth. It caught my hear for the cleanness of the sound( this also has been mentioned in another discussion) and is in my price range. I think the bass sound better than the high but still the high are not bad at all.

One little thing, it got 2 stripes in the varnish each sides of the fiddle on the top. The "luthier" retailer, who is trustable and very good fiddle player, told me that it is not a weakness and should not break and assure me that he would fix it for free if anything happens because of this. Of course, I got about 10% off because of this.

I am studying dendrochronology, the study of tree ring, and it seems to me that it is the same growing ring on each side of the fiddle that has this stripe. I would almost think that the tree had a trauma that year and the varnish somehow penetrate more in that one particular ring.

I love the sound of it and it is one of the best sounding fiddle I tried in that price range.

What would you do! Any advices, opinions?

Re: I am going to buy a German Roth

It is the same ring. The top of a fiddle is made by taking a block of wood and inch or so thick and slicing it down the middle, folding it over and gluing it so the two halves are symmetrical. It will have been a particular year in the tree’s life where something out of the ordinary happened. Maybe a drought, or particularly wet, or disease?. You tell me, your the expert. I’d be interested.

Posted .

Thought you’d left the weiller bit out.

Oh, a fiddle?

They *can* sound the same….in the wrong hands…

Heh, I tried playing Kitty’s Rambles on my neighbor’s rottweiler once, but it kept coming out as Dogs Among the Bushes…..

Posted .

That’s cos you’re a cat.
Geez, I wish someone WOULD throw some dogs among the Bushes (The Georges, that is…)

Meow.
🙂

Posted .