Requesting help with triplets on mandolin

Requesting help with triplets on mandolin

I have been playing mandolin for around two years and I like to think that I have progressed pretty well, but I am a bit stuck on triplets. I can accomplish a triplet buy hammering on or pulling off, but it always lacks volume, and I am afraid that I am not fast enough to pick all the notes in the triplet unless it is in a reasonably slow tune.
Any help or advise on the mater would be greatly appreciated

Re: Requesting help with triplets on mandolin

The first thing to look at is the mechanics of your picking motion. Is it coming more from your wrist, or from your elbow? It should really be mostly from the wrist - if your elbow is involved, then you’d have a difficult time ever getting triplets up to speed.

There are a few different techniques for triplets. I know a couple of players that actually pull the triplet off with a flick of the thumb and forefinger, so that the wrist doesn’t really go through the extra up and down strokes. I tend to do them with a slight twist of my arm, which achieves the same thing.

The one thing that I tell people that works for me, is to think of the triplet as a single thing, instead of three distinct motions. For me, the triplet is kind of like a gesture, instead of multiple motions. And for me, they’re much more difficult to do slowly.

Another thing to mention is that the natural reaction to trying to do triplets faster is to tense up your arm and try to make it move quicker. But in reality, tensing up can inhibit your playing, and make you miss the triplet. Your right arm (assuming you’re right handed) should be rather relaxed.