Deering Banjos

Deering Banjos

I’m new with banjos, and I’m looking for a nice 5-string, not an entry lever banjo either….and I was wondering does anyone have any comments on Deering, or Washburn banjos?

Re: Deering Banjos

The only Deering model that I would not buy is their metal-rimmed Boston. I personally feel that all Deerings are overpriced, but you can find some good deals used. Avoid Washburns if you’re not looking for entry level banjos.

What kind of music are you looking to play? Bluegrass? Olde tyme? Can you name a picker whose tone you like? That might help in narrowing the field down a little.

how nice do you want it to be? £k0.5, £k1, £k2…..£k5……?

I don’t know anything about Washburns.

Deerings make a wide range of banjos and even their entry level stuff, although very plain in appearance and relatively low priced, stands up very well on material and build quality, playability and sound quality. The higher price banjos have all this, and look good as well.

I suppose I’m biased because I play a modern Deering-built Vega, however I bought the instrument after some pretty hard comparisons with other makes, and have been well pleased with what I got. I also bought a Deering Goodtime recently and can’t put the damned thing down.

Have a quick google and you’ll find lots of info on both brands I’m sure.

Posted by .

never played one - but I hear that Gold Tone is pretty good - I have tried their 6 strings and they are really nice.

I hear that Kieran Hanrahan is playing a Deering Calico, I play a Deering Golden Classic, and to be honest it is the best banjo I have ever played. As for being over-priced I disagree, I played and recorded with a Maple Blossom before I got this one. They are well worth their money when you compare them to a Clareen or Dave Boyle.

Darren

Posted by .