Female Irish Musicians

Female Irish Musicians

I have noticed that in the early to mid 1900s there were not many female instrumentalists in American folk styles. It appears from the few photographs I have seen that female Irish musicians were much more common during the same period. Has any one else noticed this?
Did American men start discouraging women from playiing when we got to this side of the Atlantic?

Re: Female Irish Musicians

I’m no expert in sociology or women’s studies, but maybe partly it was because women weren’t encouraged to do much at all outside of the home. And unmarried women playing music with men was propably scandalous. Married women with families were busy cooking, sewing, cleaning, etc. Maybe that is too simplistic a reason, though.

And then how would that explain why there seem to be plenty of Irish women musicians of the same time period? Hmmm, maybe I just cut down my own theory…..

Posted by .

Probably only partly true. There were ‘women’s instruments’ such as the concertina and fiddle and you would have seen these only in certain parts of the country like Clare.

Even when I was learning in the 1960’s and 70’s there were very few female musicians. Tara Diamond [nee Bingham], Deirdre Shannon, and a few others.

It’s great to see that now this is a thing of the past. Local Comhaltas and other Trad Music Groups in Ireland have encouraged young girls into the music and it’s now at least 50-50.