Any harpers in the Leeds area?

Any harpers in the Leeds area?

Hi everyone. I used to come around here a lot a couple years ago. These days I just lurk once in a while.

Anyway, I’m fairly new to Leeds (UK) and I am looking for other harpers (I also play fiddle) to play with on an informal basis. (A little harping, a little chatting, a little snacking)

I’m originally from the Philadelphia / NJ area which was a hot bed of harp activity, and I’m missing my old harp friends. I hope to make new ones.

Respond here or email me through this site.

Posted by .

Re: Any harpers in the Leeds area?

You could hunt out the Leeds Branch of Comhaltas, Andee. in fact when I think about it, "slainte" used to live there - he might have some contacts. I know 2 musicians who live in the area.
If you’ve no luck, I’ll try to get a contact number for them. Welcome to the UK.

Posted by .

Thanks Kenny. I’ll check out the Leeds Comhaltas branch. I’ll email slainte as well—I didn’t know he once lived in Leeds!

Posted by .

Hmmm, the links to events, news, etc don’t work. Nothing happens when I try to click on contact us either, but I did click on the link to the Leeds Irish Centre, though that doesn’t help much.

I guess I could use a contact number or email of someone.

Posted by .

Hi Andee 🙂

You could try the Irish Arts Foundation, who run the annual Leeds Gathering festival, but are active year-round:
http://www.irisharts.org.uk/

And it looks like Máire Ní Chathasaigh will be there in May - see event 43 on this page:
http://www.leeds.ac.uk/music/concerts.htm

If you contact the Irish Centre they should be able to tell you when the next Comhaltas session is.

Hi John!
Thanks for the links. I found out when the Comhaltas sessions are and I’ve put the Maire Ni Chathasaigh concert on my calendar. I’ll check out the Irish Arts Foundation.

Posted by .

Hi Andee,

Can’t help you but it’s nice to have you back again and over here too.

🙂

Hi Andee!