fiddle strings for irish/scottish trad

fiddle strings for irish/scottish trad

Having played with a variety of steel strings on my fiddle over the past couple of years I thought I might try a set of synthetic core strings like dominants. The interesting thing is that when I started playing, a lot of the fiddle players round here insisted that steel was the only thing to use.

How have people found dominants or any other synthetic cores - or is steel the only true way to go 🙂

Posted by .

Re: fiddle strings for irish/scottish trad

I like Helicores. They say synthetics are slower, and in my experience that seemed true… that said, I know Liz Carroll used Obligatos at some point, so with enough talent I’m sure anything works.

A lot of it is dependent on the fiddle as well. Evah Pirrazi’s sound great on my friend’s fiddle, but not so much mine. I went through Obligatos, Evah Pirazzi’s and Tonicas and eventually settled back on heavy tension helicores.

Been using Thomastic’s Präsizion strings for years, never been dissapointed. Tough, long-lasting and relatively cheap, with good tone and a response time (short) that I’ve not come across yet.
That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it. My recomendation.

I use Evah Pirazzis, with a gold E string. They sound fantastic! Very smooth, yet powerful and rich tone. They sound good both to my ear and to other people, which is a hard balance to find in strings. The gold E really eliminates that harsh, metallic sound that you tend to get with many steel or metal-wound E strings.