The dreaded pinky finger

The dreaded pinky finger

First of all, I would like to say how delighted I am to have found this site. I have made it part of my daily routine to come check out the various discussions and the wealth of knowledge that can be found here and its been a lot of help.
I just started learning to play the fiddle about six months ago with no previous music experience. Just about everyone I know told me I’m crazy since its such a difficult instrument, especially to start on. Despite the squeaks and squawks, I’m incredibly addicted! I found a good teacher near me who teaches Irish fiddle and have been taking lessons weekly for the past four months.
I think I’m making decent progress, although sometimes when I record myself playing it’s a different story haha 🙂. The biggest hurdle that I’ve yet to tackle is the use of the pinky finger on the ‘E’ string. I have small hands and I just can’t seem to stretch it far enough. My teacher has suggested that I shift my hand down to hit the note. I have tried doing this but I find that I end up fumbling or pausing as I try to get my fingers back into proper position afterwards. I’m wondering If I should be trying to stretch out my pinky to eventually be able to reach the note, or if I should continue to practice the shifting. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Re: The dreaded pinky finger

Bring your arm around, using larger muscle groups., Bring the elbow closer to the center of your body, that should help your pinky reach. It’s not so much about stretching the pinky as it is using the arm (starting with the large muscle groups in the back).

wyogal is right—find the optimal position for your left elbow, and keep stretching for that note. Don’t just stretch your little finger, learn to position your whole hand and arm so that you can reach all the notes comfortably. Swing your left elbow under to reach the G string, swing it back for the E string.