Tips on learning a second instrument

Tips on learning a second instrument

I know many of you can play more than one instrument, have you any advice based on your experience of when you started learning the second or subsequent instrument? Things you found worked really well, and things with hindsight you wished you’d done differently?

Background - I am a fingerstyle guitarist with about 2 dozen arrangements of session tunes under my belt so far. I have recently started dabbling with mandolin though, and wondering if the best strategy is to (a) concentrate first on working out how to play the tunes I know having arranged them for guitar (b) learn a bunch of completely new tunes (c) focus on learning the basics (scales and arpeggios, fingerings and technique) on mandolin first (d) something completely different!

Thanks

Re: Tips on learning a second instrument

You have a leg up by knowing some tunes, and have the mental aural image of what they are supposed to sound like. Your brain currently works on string intervals tuned in fourths, and will now have to transpose into fifths, which means many new fingerings. Go ahead - try them on mandolin anyways. Great fun, accompanied by lots of expletives, and a de-calcifying of your neural paths awaits.

Posted by .

My first instrument was whistle, my second D/G melodeon. No problem, they’re not the same family of instruments.

Then I got a B/C melodeon. Trying to learn to play this while still playing D/G was chaos. I eventually gave up the B/C and carried on with the D/G.

Maybe taking on two instruments of the same basic family but with different tunings is asking for trouble, but some do succeed in this. There are people who can play a variety of stringed instruments or melodeons or mouth-organs, and (I believe) bagpipers who can play Highland, Uilleann and Northumbrian pipes, but they’ll have to have put a lot of work into it.