The Function Of Ornaments

The Function Of Ornaments

There’s a sentence in this book http://www.sarc.qub.ac.uk/icmc2008//blog/wp-content/uploads/2007/11/pipes-5.pdf suggesting that a slur is useful "in order to avoid the difficulty of doubling the low notes on the pipes". I don’t play pipes, so is this right i.e. it’s easier to play parts of the melody with ornaments than straight? One of the functions of ornaments is to make it easier for the piper?

Re: The Function Of Ornaments

I’m not a piper but I think that some pipe ornaments evolved as a way to play things that can’t otherwise be played. For instance, if you want to play the same note twice in a row it would be hard to do unless you could somehow close the airflow from the bellows briefly…or you could use a quick interruptor note between those two notes to put a break between them. And I think a lot of these pipe ornaments found their way to other instruments as an imitation of the sound of the pipes.

I’m no expert on the evolution of ornaments, though, I’m just repeating what I’ve heard/read elsewhere. So take it with a grain of salt.

Pipes are essentially unplayable without ornaments (or articulation) because you cannot tongue the notes, as you can on a flute. The flow of air is also constant, which further creates the need for a way to articulate the tune. When one learns to play pipes, you study all the various ornaments associated with each note (there are only nine on the GHB) of the scale. When you have learned all the ornaments used for each note of the scale, you have the foundation for playing pipes.

Posted by .

I’m of the opinion that the so called ornaments are part of the tune. I don’t think it’s possible to prize what is tune and what is ornament apart. There’s some pertinent stuff in this discussion (provided you can wade through the sh*te that is.

https://thesession.org/discussions/17606

Posted .