Beats per Minute

Beats per Minute

Just wondering what the general opinion is as to the acceptable tempo of session tunes where someone is likely to say "that was a nice speed". I know its personal preference but sometimes tunes are obviously too fast or a bit on the slow side. The reason i ask is because i am revamping my right hand technique for the banjo and realise i have to go back to the metronome to keep things steady while im learning and therefore trying to work out a good bpm for an initial starting point and possibly a target point when competence improves. Cheers

Posted by .

Re: Beats per Minute

Around the basic heartbeat, approximately 120 bpm… And depending on what you’re playing and who with, up and down from that centre…

I’m new to all of this as well so could I ask if that is 120 bpm meaning 120 quavers a minute in a 6/8 tune or 120 groups of three quavers a minute?

Also when using a metronome how is it best to set it up. I find it easiest to play 6/8 tunes with a click of the metronome for each group of three notes. For hornpipes I would like to go for a click of the metronome on beats 2 and 4 to give it swing but due to my apparent inability to synchonise pick-up notes with this ususally end up with the metronome clicking on every beat

Thanks for any further advice

Um, ceolachan get down to the doctors, i think your tachycardic. 70 - 75 bpm is about average for a resting adult. 120 bpm musicaly sounds quite frantic to me- so begineth the debate.

Posted by .

If I’m at home practicing, I like to set it to 100 for Reels and 120 for jigs.
For Hornpipes I prefer it to click once per 4-beats (and therefore I set it fairly low…can’t quite remember but i think around 80).

It’s different for everyone I guess…I kinda like those speeds above, as when it’s faster sometimes the tunes don’t quite sound so clear (but sure it depends who’s playing them I suppose!) πŸ™‚