Marches

Marches

Hi all,
I’m a new member (but a lurker for some time). My main interest is in sean-nós singing, but I’ve been playing fiddle for about six years and I’m trying to understand some things better. I was going through the discussions about marches, and I’m still confused. It seems that marches can be called a jig, reel, polka, barndance, hornpipe, etc. Is it simply that it’s a march if the title says it’s a march? Sorry for the confusion, folks; I’d just like to figure this out. Go raibh maith agaibh!

Re: Marches

I heard an interesting thing about marches once: 4/4 time for infantry, but 6/8 for cavalry. Something about the difference in the gait—people go "hup-two-three-four," but horses go "clop-e-ty, clop-e-ty, clop-e-ty."

There’s no "march" category because marches can come in any number of time signatures.

Tunes on this site are entered into the system by dance type, rhythm and key (key’s irrelevent to this case).

For example: Drowsy Maggie is a reel in 4/4,
Harvest Home is a hornpipe in 4/4,
Whitehaven Volunteers is a barndance in 4/4.

So you see, more than one type of tune can go with a given rhythm.

However, *all* the tunes of a given type have the same rhythm: e.g., all reels are 4/4; all polkas are 2/4 - etc., for the purposes of this site anyway.

Marches (at any rate, tunes named as such) don’t fit into this system. This is because they do not come all in the same rhythm, like reels, but in a variety of rhythms. Thus, a 2/4 march will be shoe-horned in under "Polkas", a 6/8 one under "Jigs", and so on.

If you type "March" into the tune title search box of the Tunes section, you’ll get some of them (well, a lot!), but obviously not the many that don’t have "March" in the title though they were originally composed as marches. But try "Major", "Pipe-Major", "Captain", "Guards" and what have you, and you might find a few.