I’ve been a good boy last year

I’ve been a good boy last year

so the magi brought me a nice Weymann tenor banjo, 19 fret, megaphonic rim. I’m new to resonator banjos, so I’m in need of a bit of advice.
The resonator has four wooden pieces sticked to the inside, covered in felt, that I guess are a kind of separator to keep it centered on the rim. There is an envelope with 6 metal pieces I don’t know how to use. So my questions are:
How is the resonator attached to the banjo? I can put it in place, but it will fall as soon as I stop holding it.
How is the 2 piece flange attached to the resonator?
I can do a few pics if that would help

It’s otherwise a well setup, nice sounding banjo.

Re: I’ve been a good boy last year

Are you sure you’ve been a good boy, Ramiro?

At least I made the magi believe I’ve been a good boy. That’s what matters.
They can’t read internet forums πŸ™‚

Can they?
oh πŸ™

That’s very well done, Ramiro. You are right of course.
But it sounds like one of them has sabotaged your banjo!
It will be interesting to hear the solutions.

Actually, Ramiro, magi come from cold climates don’t they?
They have probably used the wrong glue and the back has fallen off your banjo in the warm weather you have there. Magi! you can’t them anywhere !

you can’t take them anywhere, either!

DD, we had -3ΒΊC last night. And the Magi come from the Middle East.

You can’t win ‘em all, Ramiro. And on top of that they give you dodgy banjo!

I was very, very bad boy one year, and I promised to be a very, very bad boy the next year too. The Magi brought me a bodhran, and I was able to keep my promise.

A bodhran! That’s pretty extreme. Where can you go from there?

There are normally screw holes in the resonator - often on the top of the blocks you mentioned that have felt on them

Posted by .