Trouble with Seery?

Trouble with Seery?

Hi there,

I play whistle in the main although was taught and played flute whilst at school and for several years after. A decade on, I am playing whistle in a scottish trad band and thoroughly enjoy it.

The call of the flute led to me buying a second hand keyless seery last year which is beautiful, except when I am playing it! It seems to be so unforgiving. I really want to pursue the flute playing, it is where me heart is, but I don’t seem to be getting anywhere. My hands ache, my embrochure is rubbish and my mouth aches. My hands are quite small (too small to play a low d whistle comfortably). I practice as much as I can between practicing the whistle and wonder whether this is going to take years or have I started with the wrong type/make of flute?

Thanks for taking the time to read, any advice would be great.

Cheers, Louise.

Re: Trouble with Seery?

My hands ached terribly when I started playing the flute. It’s OK now, unless I am playing tunes that need to use keys (that I don’t normally use) a lot.
Keep going, but can’t offer any thoughts on the Seery.

Louise, I started on a Seery (a Delrin one), too. At first I didn’t realize that it was a fairy demanding flute. But when I upgraded (first to a Copley, then to a Hammy), I soon understood that the Seery wanted a lot of air and was fairly heavy in my hands. By comparison, the Hammy keyless that I now play feels wonderful–easy to fill, comfortable hole spacing, and light as a feather.

If I were you, I’d shop around and at least try different wooden flutes. You may find something that suits you much better.

Posted .