Music teacher in the family

Music teacher in the family

How many of you grew up in a family where one parent or both parents were music teachers? And did that help and/or encourage (or discourage) you to become a musician also?
I became interested in playing music because my mother was a piano teacher who had a bachelor’s degree in music education. She began teaching me to play the piano when I was seven and I still enjoy playing the piano.

Re: Music teacher in the family

Mom and Dad both loved music and the radio was on all the time; classical, show tunes, big band swing, even Lawrence Welk and Liberace on the TV. (!) Neither could read music or play an instrument, but Dad sang in parish choirs his whole life. Both supported me in my music as best they could. Now, I’m a music teacher and all four of my kids play.

My husband and I are both music teachers. As such, we never forced our kids to play music. All three of them played in band and orchestra in school, we never forced them to practice. The two boys played violin, and our daughter played saxophone. They don’t really play those particular instruments anymore, but all three play music everyday. The daughter has a vocal scholarship (although she is studying business) for college, the boys play in bands, guitar and drums. Music is extremely important in all of their lives. and of course, are quite talented. ; )

Pop went to Temple in Philly, year behind Bill Cosby. Majored in music. He went in photography professionally but still taught on the side. I’ve actually dragged him out of musical lethargy and now he’s playing the whistle at sessions.

He was so worries I’d get frustrated when I was 7 and told him I wanted to play the violin."Are you sure? I have all these other things that are easier to play…" Heh heh heh. ๐Ÿ˜‰