Online session on youtube (The Butterfly)

Re: Online session on youtube (The Butterfly)

Bloody awful

Posted .

Well done, i thought something like that would never work due to lag and delay, but you pulled it off really well considering.

The experience of playing in the same room as someone can never be beaten, but thats just my opinion. Im sure some people won’t like it here, but there are people who live in areas where they don’t get a chance to play in sessions regularly, and this this could be a wonderful resource for them.

Trust me, if we had the chance, we would go to sessions. This is not supposed to be a "look this is just as good as a regular session" demonstration, because it is obviously not. The people playing in this video are all self taught as far as I know, mainly over the internet, and don´t have much experience playing with others. This is a demonstration, to prove that sessions can happen online for those with an interest.

That fair enough of course! I hope you didn’t misunderstand me, I do really like the idea, and I understand completely what you’ve (succesfully) demonstrated!

I think what you’ve successfully demonstrated is the need to get together for real. If you say you can’t, then this is the best you’ll ever get. If you want to get better, then less of the "if we had the chance, we would go to sessions" excuses. Move house, move continent, what ever it takes.

Posted .

My God! There’s no banjo player! You remembered to invite the bodhran player but left out the banjo….insult upon insult!

Beanstalk: I understood you just fine, there was nothing wrong with your first comment.

llig leahcim: I have actually found a fiddle/guitar player, and we had a two man session not too long ago. I know what you mean, after having played with someone IRL. Nothing beats it for sure, and one will improve a lot faster than by playing alone. You can however get quite far on your own, because of todays technology. By playing along with CDs etc.