How important is online sources to your knowledge of Irish Music?

How important is online sources to your knowledge of Irish Music?

Hello All,
I’m currently doing a PhD at UCC (University College Cork) on the learning experience of trad musicians. I’m interested on how or why people use online sources. If you would would like to contribute to the study I would really appreciate any and all opinions you have on the matter. Thanks a mil!

Here are just some questions to spark some thought, but feel free to add anything you feel interesting and important.
(For research sake, please include your name, instrument, age, and where you were born/grew up. I won’t use people’s names in my dissertation. Feel free email me directly at jessiecawley@yahoo.com if you wish to contribute your opinions but not wish them publicized on this discussion board).

What do you get out of websites like the session.org?

What do you like most about thesession.org (The discussion board, the tunes, the session search engine…)?

Do you consider the internet a primary source of learning?

Besides the internet, what do you consider the most important ways you learn Irish music (the tunes, skills, and other knowledge)?

Thank you all for your opinions!

Re: How important is online sources to your knowledge of Irish Music?

ill bite, even though im a new-bee!

Chris,
Whistle,
Belfast.

Thesession provides a league-table of popular tunes which gave me a ‘to learn’ list when i was starting out. It also serves as my tunebook as the intigration of midi/sheetmusic and tune tracking centralises the resources i need.