Petrie’s Complete Irish Music

Petrie’s Complete Irish Music

HI All,

Newbie here. Checking to see what people thought of this collection of tunes. Good one to have? (I am NOT trying to stir up anything about dots here!)

Thanks,
Nofrets

Re: Petrie’s Complete Irish Music

Just taking a quick look, I didn’t see any tune names that I recognized and the key signatures are a little strange for "normal" playing (i.e. keys of D, G, A and their minors). All of the tunes could be easily transposed, but why bother when there are lots of collections around with tunes that are actually played in sessions. The historical significance is, obviously, well, significant however…

Pat

Those old collections are always fun to troll through, just don’t expect anyone to know any particular tune you find there. That’s okay, though, if you find something that you think is great, you can bring it out and see if it comes back to life. If it does, you’ll have added a new tune to your local repertoire, and that’s worth getting up in the morning for.

Took a look through mine just now. There seem to be some interesting settings of some common tunes, for example: "Kitty gone a-milking", "The Moving Bog", "Blackberry Blossom" in Eb (!!), "Strawberry Blossom", "Gusty’s Frolics" with 10 parts (!!), a 3 part "cherish the ladies", a setting w/o repeats of "The choice wife", a version of "The Cuckoo’s nest" in Eb, "Old Hag You Have Killed me" in Emaj…and what look to be like some lovely airs.

Considering how settings get altered over time, I always find it interesting to read through some of these older settings and see how (maybe) these tunes used to be played. Rainy day sight-reading, I guess would be what I use this collection for. I wouldn’t use this book to learn tunes from, though, and I certainly wouldn’t start an Eb tune at most of the sessions I frequent.

G’day Nofrets,
I’m not familiar with Petrie’s collection but…….