Beginning Fiddle Queries

Beginning Fiddle Queries

I’m just starting out and I’m curious as to how most of you began to learn fiddle. Did you play classical violin first and then learn the Irish style later? What are your thoughts on the Suzuki Method?

Re: Beginning Fiddle Queries

Welcome Baroness—I did have some early classical exposure, and Irish tunes became much easier when I (with the help of a good teacher) started to unlearn/relearn some of the technique. But sorry, I’m too old to know anything about the Suzuki Method.

If you are 4, the Suzuki method is good. Actually, it is about learning music like one learns language. The parent learns to play along with the child. I like the emphasis on listening.
I started playing classical style and came to folk styles later in life. If it’s trad you want to play, find a trad teacher.

Briefly, the Suzuki Method is applicable to all types of fiddle/violin playing, placing a lot of emphasis on the production of good tone and using the ears as a basis for playing any type of music. Historically, it harks back to one of the very greatest violin teachers of the late 19th and early 20th centuries - Leopold Auer (try google). I think it’s more fluid and accommodating than the exam-oriented teaching methods of some other organisations.
Give it a try.

I’ll also add that the Suzuki method is applicable to all ages, not only young children. Of course, an adult wouldn’t be taught in the same way as a child.

Baroness, if you want to play Irish fiddle, find an Irish fiddle teacher, preferably one who can show you simple, effective fiddle technique, but more importantly help you feel the pulse and nyah of this music.