Looking for tips on buying a fiddle.

Looking for tips on buying a fiddle.

I have been using the same beginner’s/student fiddle for over 2 years now and want to get something a bit lighter with a nicer sound. I think I know the difference now but would like some good tips on what to look out for? What kind of price range to expect? I had a look in McNeill’s in Capel St. and they seemed to start from 300 Euro. Basically I’m looking for a decent intermediate level fiddle. Apologies if there is an older discussion on this, point me in its direction and I’ll be happy.
Thanks!

Re: Looking for tips on buying a fiddle.

Hi Ronan—yes we have talked about this before—maybe try searching for the discussion under "buying a fiddle". But no harm in talking about it again since it’s been a while.

I think it’s good that you’ve already been using a student fiddle and you have something to compare a new fiddle with. What I did was take the rented fiddle I was using into the shops with me and I would play a bit of a new fiddle and then compare it with the one I was already used to. I realized that the old student fiddle I was using was quite good for how much my teacher paid for it and I had to go to about $750 to find one just as pleasing to my ear. I finally went for the next one up—$1000—because it was so much better considering the difference it cost, since it is a lifetime investment.

I’m sure you’ll get lots more advice on this one from the rest of the fiddle playing gang!

Posted by .

this is a good question and the best advice I can think of giving is pay as much as you can afford.

But remember that you won’t be able to play your new fiddle to any where near its optimum for quite a while. You may even have moments of despair when you think you sound better on your old fiddle. This will pass and with time, you’ll be looking back and saying it’s the best thing you ever did

Posted .