PLEASE HELP!!! I need an Irish Band for St Patrick’s Day

PLEASE HELP!!! I need an Irish Band for St Patrick’s Day

I was wondering if anyone could be of an assistant, i am an event manager (newly appointed) for a pub in Kiveton Park, Sheffield. I need a local irish band to play at my St. Patrick’s Day event. I had no luck so far, please does anyone have any suggestions. Appreciate any help. Thank you.

Re: PLEASE HELP!!! I need an Irish Band for St Patrick’s Day

Does "local" include North East Scotland?
If the price is right …..

Posted by .

You know when to start booking for next St. Patrick’s Day?

March 18th.

…but good luck!

Hi,
I play regularly with Irish players in Sheffield (I used to live there ) and could probably sort out a band (very good players, play in all sorts of band set-ups). However the price would have to be right even thought they’re local!

Fran

what would you call a reasonly price?

well, for playing we get 10 dollars and for not playing we get 20 dollars. Then we have to rehearse. For that we get 30 dollars. But then of course , if we don’t rehearse, we don’t play, and if we don’t play, THAT can run into some money!

Nate, can I join you in not playing? I’ll not play the pipes, since I don’t play the pipes.

I don’t think we could afford that, Bob. Not playing the pipes gets pretty expensive

Sarah, thinking about this, you might just get yourself one helluva session if you want, by posting your request on here - could you handle and cheaply accommodate some 15-25 or so session players from various parts of these islands and beyond, for a day or two? This could be a fantastic sequel along the lines of the "session.org session", held a few years ago in London:
https://thesession.org/discussions/8526/comments#comment182355
Depends what you’re up for - but it could be good. Your call. No worries if not.

Hi Sarah,
If you are interested in Sheffield folk that I know please send a message to my username, thanks,

Fran