Out of tune (BBC Radio Programme)

Out of tune (BBC Radio Programme)

Last night (early hours of Monday morning) there was a 30-minute BBC radio programme about tuning and intonation in music, and how it varies between cultures. There was an example of quarter-tones in Egyptian music, and examples of even more exotic (in the sense of non-Western, non-classical) intonation from a Japanese flute.

This was the first part of a two-part series, the second part of which is being broadcast at the same time (12.15am early next Monday morning on BBC radio 4).
You can re-hear the first part on

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4/science/rams/outoftune.ram

Btw, this will probably only be available on-line for the remainder of this week.

Trevor

Re: Out of tune (BBC Radio Programme)

Does it give "Unaccompanied singers in sessions" as another example? πŸ™‚)

A good friend of mine, cellist by trade - with perfect pitch to boot, is convinced that Irish singers, in particular in the Sean Nos tradition, use an intonation system that is "off" - but a self-contained and consistent off-ness.

I haven’t done much research on this, but is it accepted that Sean Nos or ITM in general built on an atypical, non-"western classical" tuning system? Or, as John seems to imply, are singers just always out of tune.

-Curious Q

Posted by .

whoops, my question marks have been acting up today. here’s the varmint now: ?

Posted by .

You’ll have to listen to the programme to get all the details, but basically intonation throughout the world’s cultures is a matter of horses for courses.
The problem with western "classical music" is that it has been forced into the mould of 12 semitones to the octave, and this has been reinforced by the standard keyboard (harpsichord, piano, organ etc) over the centuries, and so the "educated" classical ear finds it difficult to comprehend notes that aren’t part of the 12 semitones and to hear them as other than "out of tune".