improvisation

improvisation

I’m a trad guitarist/mando/songwriter and can play chords all day and pick out melodies by ear with no probs, but cannot work out how to improvise. Don’t tell me to buy any more books, I now have to turf one out if I buy anymore.

Can anybody give me quick, concise suggestions?

Re: improvisation

Listen to Toots Hibbert and let the pressure drop.

Simple.

Don’t.

Play the tune. Improvisation in the way that it occurs in other musical forms like jazz and blues has no place in traditional Irish music.

I’m not sure that this is the best place to come with this question, but here goes:
The trick with improvising is to hear something in your head and be able to play it. If you’re playing with others, that means understanding what they’re doing and what they’re going to do next, and having a clear idea of what will go with it. If you’re thinking of a more free-jazz sense of "improvising" (a la Keith Jarrett or the Ornette Coleman) then it’s a matter also of throwing away structures and playing something beautiful outside of the "arbitrary" structures "imposed" by rules of harmony and composition. (the scare quotes should indicate that I don’t agree with the assumptions here)

In any case, the important thing is to hear what’s happening, and to hear what will fit with it, and to play that, without having to stop to translate.
If you’re looking to play a melody line (a solo) or a harmony or counterpoint, one exercise is to be able to play back what someone plays to you, call and response style. If you have a friend who’s similarly interested in improvising, you can take turns playing follow the leader this way. This is a way to get your instrument to connect directly with your ear, and from there it’s a short step to the inner ear, to be able to play back not what you hear but what you want to hear.